Texture paint go weird

Hi all, I’m a beginner to Blender and the community. I got some problem with texture painting function. I hope I place my question in the right forum. Please suggest me if I misunderstanding.

I have modeling and sculpting 2 difference object in this project. There is a turtle shell and turtle body. I can paint texture normally fine with the turtle shell which has lower polygon.

But for the body my computer got frozen and the program has been shutdown afterward. I think it might need too much memory than my computer can proceed. So I tried to lower the polygon resolution by using decimate modifier and it work. Now I can paint on the turtle body.

But after I paint on an object. Painting color painted on an object flew along all the object like a water color and it is uncontrollable. As in the picture, one simple click on an object made a color flow along the object like a weird strip. Not like a normal brush painting.

I tried with another object with quite high polygon resolution. Without decimate modifier function added. But the texture painting got the same problem. I’m using 2.92 Blender version. I also noticed that there is no UV unwrap showing in texture paint UVs tab. Does anyone know how to fix this problem ? I’m so desperate now since I tried to search through both Youtube and blogs but there are nothing close to what I’m looking for. I appreciated to any helps in advance.

Hi

UVs don’t show up in Image Editor unless you select faces of the mesh (easier to do in Edit Mode, but you can do it in Texture Paint as well).

Now UV Editor is what you need to unwrap the mesh so it can be properly textured.
From your words, I’m assuming you didn’t do and kind of retopology after sculpting?
If so, while it’s technically possible to unwrap a decimated sculpt (just slow and probably painful), it’s worth to look into retopology workflow.

1 Like