Texture painting and sculpting - workflows?

Hello Blenderers,

I’ve been working in Blender for the past 2 years (~10 years experience in Maya) and I’m looking to get more into Blender’s sculpting and texture painting. I have some experience with zBrush and I’m trying to convert my skills across.

Blender’s workflow is subtly different from zBrush. I was hoping the artists here could share their Blender workflows with me, so I’ve got a rough step by step guide on where to start and where to finish?

Let’s assume I want to sculpt a character (dynotopo), retopologise and texture paint it.

One thing that bugs me is Blenders lack of default alpha brushes. How do people go about getting new brushes into Blender without having to create a dozen brushes each time? I’m so used to zBrush just having it all sitting there for me.

I’m also interested in what addons people use. I’m currently looking at Advanced Sculpting and BPainter as potential addons. Has anyone had experience with these? Are there others you would recommend?
(I run a small studio, so I’m happy to spend a bit of money here).

And finally, I’m curious what problems people have run into with sculpting and/or texture painting. Are there any headaches I should prepare myself for?

1 Like

Hello there,

About the alpha i have my folder where i saved all the brushes, my own and free from Internet (mostly from Blend swap) and every time i have a project and i know what kind of brushes will be needed, i just append them. This is why Blender is light and loads fast.

About the addons, I m Blender/FLOSS guy, i usual use retopo addons: bsurface and F2 are the one that i use the most, they are free and shipped with Blender. Retopo is usual the most time consuming in this workflow :frowning: I have seen people being happy using BPainter.

Many times i read people complaining about Brush behaviors, some Blender sculpting brush don’t behavior like other sculpting App so have to get use to it :wink:

And always ask.