Textures don't appear on object

Hi!
I’ve got a problem that was already described in a couple of threads. I think I followed all steps for solution, yet the problem persists. I’m very new at Blender so I might miss something.
The model imported from OBJ has no texture on it in Object mode (neither in Blender Render nor in Cycles) but the texture is visible in render (Cycles).
My settings are:
Shading method: Texture
Maximum Draw Type for object: Textured
I also did what some folks advised: selected all faces in Edit Mode and loaded texture map to UV Editor. UV layout is perfect.

I attach an archive with original OBJ file, texture map in TGA (original) and JPG (tried with converted map as well but no success) and .blend imported model.

I’d be grateful someone could tell me what I’m doing wrong.

I’m using Blender 2.79b.

You had no light in your scene and for the internal renderer you need a different material than for cycles. I attached prefixes to the material names. Anyway can i ask why you don’t use the latest version.dudex1.zip (2.7 MB)

The texture still doesn’t show up neither in viewport nor in render nor in material Perview.

Did you save the file in Blender 2.8? Maybe there’s a compatibility issue.

I don’t use the latest version because my PC’s processor is too old generation and it won’t run the newest Blender :frowning:

Sorry my fault , i forgot to set the materials to fake user :frowning:
dudex2.zip (2.7 MB)

Thank you!
So using nodes is the simplest (or only) solution?
I still haven’t figured out well how they work. Looks like I have to learn soon.

Yes cycles without nodes is senseless. And on the other side internal render nodes are very messy you should forget that, it is to old for that.

Fine, now I know something about nodes but I don’t understand why you used Principled BSDF instead of Diffuse BSDF.
Still I can see the texture in render but in Object Mode the whole guy is pitch black :frowning: