Texturing hints needed!

Hey guys, im a decent blender game developer but i find i always fall when making textures (eg. texturing a shark)

i always seem to end up quitting a game i spent ages on just because i am horrible at texturing, can anyone give me a hadn with some tips maybe?

I think you will get a lot of help in the texturing forum.

Change the style! Not everything needs to be photorealistic if that’s not your cup of tea. Even if you don’t want to go toon style, underwater you can get away with solid colors + ramps especially with fancy shaders and effects like caustics. (Don’t ask me how to do it in BGE though :wink: )

Some hints if you still want to do texturing:

Texture paint brush with cloud texture can give you a good start. Use small strength, smooth falloff and have patience. Paint separately and layer multiple textures like base color and dirt.

Remember to use reference images, you can load them inside Blender in texture window or 3D view bakcground, they help a lot. You could even make your textures by taking a reference image and stretching the UV layout on top of that and then use it to bake a proper UV layout. Apply small fixes to it with clone brush.

You can bake lighting (SSAO/AO) to solid color texture which already bring much more life to your models.

I found a pretty good reference, by just typing shark into google:

Author: Knepp Timothy, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

And another Reference from an actual photo, where you can better the the mouth, fins, eyes, gills and the color on the bottom.

Author: Albert kok

Before you even start texturing, it’s also important that you have all the mesh details that you want.
Let’s say your model is finished. Now an also important step before texturing is a clean unwrap.