Texturing tutorial content suggestions wanted

Hi everyone,
New as I may be to this forum, I’m planning to write a complete tutorial on Blender texturing and shading. (As a chronic tutorialist, expect me to wring out more of these eventually. I’m currently studying to be a teacher, so I consider these homework. ;-)) I’d like it to be as complete as possible, in the 10-20 page range. This is my planned disposition, but if you have any specific questions, suggestions, tips/tricks or other material to share or that you want me to cover, please tell me. All contributors will be given due credit, of course. :wink:

The tutorial will be split into two distinct parts - the technical, Blender-specific part and the artistic, more universal part. Is this a good idea? The aesthetics part will naturally put GIMP/Photoshop to good use. This tutorial won’t be done in a snap: I’m partly writing it as a way of getting more familiar with Blender’s shading methodology - I’ve just come in from planet Carrara which had an altogether different outlook on all this.

I distinctly remember someone on this forum to have an attention deficiency and trouble reading from the same screen as he/she was modeling on, so I will release the tutorials in both HTML and printable PDF format. Also, depending on the length of the final article, I might come to release the tutorial’s parts separately.

This is the stuff that I intend to cover:

Introduction:

• Shading versus modeling
  • What to keep in mind/what are your goals?
  • Shading and light
  • The Blender way: Materials vs Shading vs Texturing
  • Coming from other software packages

Technique:
Materials:

• What constitutes a material?
  • Material and Lighting
  • Color
  • Shading
  • Understanding the material parameters
  • Working with multiple materials in a single mesh
  • A working example (Creating plastic, metal, wood, glass, asphalt and fudge for example - if you have any material you have had trouble creating, please tell me)