The 3D Industry and Careers

I’m just interested if anyone would like to comment on the state of the industry in general, are most 3d animators/graphic designers free lancers? contractors?

Is the market saturated?

What careers does the 3d Modelling/Animation umbrella actually entail?

Would/could you use a package like Blender to redesign and implement User interfaces? I suppose you could, I see potential markets there.

I’m fairly new to 3D Graphics and animation, for me its been a learn the theory first kind of introduction where my Computer Science lecturers notes and tests were on the mathematical theory and algorithms for anything graphics, bump maps, Ray tracing, Bezier curves, lighting techniques like blinn-phong. I’ve since become a Blender Hobbyist/addict trying video tutorials and slowly increasing my Blender skillset.

Here in New Zealand, the 3D industry is kind of swamped, and it’s very hard to get in anywhere without the “who came first, chicken or egg” years of industry experience. Freelancing is the way to go if you want the kind of background to get accepted elsewhere, but then you still face the same issues trying to get freelancing contracts; you have to basically approach poor musicians (for example) and offer to animate an album for zero budget, at your risk not theirs just to have some kind of a portfolio.

To apply for a position, you need to put together a DVD reel showing no more than two and a half minutes and contact details. Post these around to the TV advertising agencies, studios etc, and see if anyone has something you can help with. It can be very frustrating because often they have many such applicants or there simply isn’t the seasonal demand for new projects.