The first steps could be painfull but eye-opening.

Hello,

My name is Kalin and I decided to take part in the Blendswap competition. I was quite exited since it was going to be my first competition and I found the subject very cool and I thought I might do relatively good(far away from thinking that I might actualy win something but in general we all secretly dream and think about it).

I had to push it since I found out about the project in the middle of the month and the deadline to submit your work was April 1. Between work and Uni for my novice abilities as a hobbyist I was quite happy with what I got.

This is my 1st issue that I found out for myself in the last day.

All went well until Blendswap decided to extend the period 2 days before submitting the final work.
In some cases this would be awesome for people that are behind with texturing or rigging or whatever.
In this line of thinking you could make those weekend challenges a few days longer because someone didnt have time to finish the textures of their model. WHAT’S THE POINT OF THE DEADLINE?!?!?!?!
Now, you could say: “What you whining about? Just go and use this additional time yourself!”
To witch I will answer:" Maybe I took part in the contest because I thought I will have time to meet the deadline and finish the project that is in my head." Maybe I have to go to work and in the same time to take exams.
Like I suggested in a letter to the Blendswap representatives before starting a competition you could make a poll and ask people what they think is a reasonable time to finish a model, or a scene, or whatever. There are other ways to go at this Im sure.
My second issue I found for myself is NEVER NEVER EVER EVER post a WIP thread of a model…that you are working on…and that you intend to use for a competition. Why?

Not enough constructive feedback…people with not enough knowledge themselves burdening you with their inacurate opinions…other contestants making silly ways to copy and steal your ideas.