the meeting

Hello fellow blenderhood!

I finally can post a graphical work of mine. Yay! …On the long term I plan to maybe make a short movie out of it, but my time is limited, so I am not sure, if or when this will happen.

But here is a first shot.

I’d aprecciate your advices and critics, as I am still learning. I am not that satisfied with some things myself, but all in all it works for me and furthermore I don’t want to anticipate your critics, so that I keep these to myself.

fyi: Rendered in cycles 300 samples. Frog textures and most plants are made with masks I created with gimp, some plants have photographical textures I edited (also with gimp).

Attachments

Nice!
I would change the position of the blue frog so that its closer, right below the green plant that I think is called fern

thanks for commenting semlan!

You’re right. The blue one is not that well positioned. That is a consequence of my earlier attempts to animate the scene. (Blue frog crawled from the left into the shot - i just used the endposition of its motion for further developement of the scene itself. That does not work that well as still.)

So maybe I should set him a little to the right for the picture. But I don’t want to bring him nearer to the cam anyhow, as I want to preserve the spatial set-up on the whole for the animated short I am planning to develop from this. But maybe I should do so for the image.

What I am not sure about is, which plant you mean in particular, as most of them are green and the frog is currently sitting below that one I consider to be a fern. :slight_smile:

for short: I guess I will try placing him between the fern he is currently sitting below and the plant with the big leaves right of the fern. There is a little “hole” anyhow, which could be filled by that and it should fit better with the rule of thirds.