The never ending lack of an assets browser in Blender

This is not to complain, but I can’t simply understand the developers priorities. The focus very much on the grease pencil, but assets browser is almost out af question. I am not a coder, neither can I contribute to any development regrding this. Is this realy that hard ? first time they started to talk about a assets browser was back in 2017, if I am not mistaken. it is now 2020

Already a 2.9 is just a few months away, but no mention of any assets browser. So my question is: will there ever be a assets browser in Blender ?

You probably don’t understand how open source works.

The reason why grease pencil is getting updates is because someone coded it pro bono. Anyone can contribute code to the blender fundation and that is what happened in this case.

For the blender institue there isn’t anything like focus on one thing or the other. If all hired developers would be working on one feature only, it would make thing only worse.

Blender has a release schedule and they work according to the plan on which feature should be implemented when and they are better at prioritizing these things then you are. Just because you need an asset manager it doesn’t mean that everyone can’t deal without it. Belive me there ARE things much more needed in blender then an asset manager

You can try for your own and cotribute your code. Everyone would benefit from it.

You are right, I don’t understand how open source work, probably. The thing is Jerzy is that they did not follow their plan, the coder that worked with it seems to have given up ( a french Bastien Montagne). I ask is it realy that hard, because many have made addons for this, so for me it doesnt seems hard, but it is probably things with this I do not understand. " Belive me there ARE things much more needed in blender then an asset manager" many will disagree with you on this. Most 3d applications have a assets browser.