The perfect simple character modeling & animation workflow

Hi everyone. I wasn’t sure where to post this, I hope it fits in this category. I fear this post will turn out a bit long, opaque and convoluted but I will do my best to make it as clear as possible.

To put it in a nutshell, I have been trying to find the holy grail of a quick and simple workflow to create and animate characters. But while I made a lot of progress, I feel like I get tripped up by constant little workflow inefficiencies.

I would love to discuss how others would approach or do approach this and, perhaps, where I just do it wrong.

A little context: I’ve been dabbling in CGI for over 20 years and have been a Blender user for about 10. I’m interested in many many things, including the technical side of CGI (and many other things) but at heart, I’m an artist and just want to create without any hurdles in my way. My biggest love is film and I love creating stories, from personal to escapist action/sci-fi stuff.
TL;DR: I’m still a kid at heart and want to play with my digital action figures. (make short films)

To this end, what I really want is to easily and quickly create scenes, put some characters in them, animate them and churn out a cool little short film in a month or a feature film in a year or so. I’ve gotten quite fast at creating scenes with ready-made assets, but characters (to the surprise of noone) are still really hard.

This is the sort of stuff (and quality) that I’m making currently:

Not super realistic, older game-engine kind of aesthetics are really enough for telling stories, the way I want to tell them.