The right approach to sticking a surface to a table?

Hi,

I am looking to animate a roll/laminate/film sticking/resting progressively on to a table.

The animation starts with end edge of the roll already “pinned” to the table (Cyan). Then the roll moves in the specified direction (yellow) and the pink surface should start gradually lay on the table. The pink surface should cover the table as the roll moves, meaning that it needs to be extended in one direction.

I did it as a separate surface from the roll cause in this case it is not noticeable the shrinking of the roll and the film is really thin. I guess it is easier to animate it as two separate things instead of making the surface unroll from the roll.

I was wondering if you could give me some kind of tip of how to approach this taking in count I am not experienced enough in Blender and animation. I am getting better in Blender so I am confident I can follow instructions regarding animating, but I am still not that experienced in the sense of knowing how to approach certain types of movements.

I am thinking if this is a task for the new “cloth” physics or maybe I am over complicating things and this could be easily solved with another approach.
I also tried to use the shrinkwrap modifier. I remember Its possible to use vertex groups and thought that I could fake this gradual sticking effect by assigning some kind of proportional editing…but then I checked and it is not possible to do that (keyframe) shrinkwrap modifier.

Sorry for the long topic, but I believe this is a common motion in many fields so maybe other people get benefited from more experienced users too.

The easiest would be to use an extruded spline.

1. Make a spline the shape of the “graduall sticking part”.
  2. extrude it in the spline Properties panel -> Geometry -> Extrude
  3. in edit mode select the front spline vertices and use “Hook to new Object”
  4. Use the newly created Hook object to animate the spline.
1 Like