The short film Tunnel Another Way is hiring.

Dear Blender community,

I am producing and directing my first short film Tunnel Another Way in Waterford, Ireland. As I have had no luck finding an FX make up artist willing to take on the job, I have decided to try CGI to create and animate photo realistic characters with the actors doing voice overs. I am new to Blender and feel that it would take me too long to become proficient enough with the software to do this myself, so I am hiring.

The characters are humanoid with human emotions, but they are not actually human. You could say that they evolved along a slightly different evolutionary path. They have no hair or eyebrows. They have pink eyes and their skin colour is outside of the human range, with some green tones. The texture of their skin is comparable to ours. I would like to base the look of them on the likenesses of the voice actors.

I built the set completely by myself. Here is the link to a YouTube video I put up calling for a cast and crew. The footage in the video is of the actual set. It will offer you a glimpse at how the film will look. I would like to superimpose the CG characters directly onto footage of the set. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t8wR7CO-bEo

I want to be sure that the characters are on the right side of the uncanny valley. I have wondered about the possibility of using performance capture, where I would put little dots on the actors that the software could follow to allow the performance of the actors to actually drive the performance of the CG characters. The set is dark and in the film it will be lit only by little flash lights that the characters have. This would allow us to drop the lights from time to time to overcome technical difficulties with the CGI.

If you believe you can do this, are interested and have the time to work with me, please send me a PM.

Best,

Jon Kiel.