The temple in the valley

Hello.
Here is my first try at CG. I have been switching from program to program for the past 6-8 months, before finding blender about 3 months ago. Now I am in love with it like the most of us here. This image is made entirely in blender. I have been putting this image together for a week now while holding down a full time job, so the distractions are somewhat visible in the final render. By putting up this post, I hope to learn more. Please be constructive with your comments and critiques. Thanks.

Overall i would say its a good start. these are the things that i wold consider fixing.
-There are some overall scale issues. Size of the leaves relative to the temple.
-The rock wall is a little “gooey”, model in some more detail and use some displacement.
-Colour wise the rock wall is a little too close to the colour palette of the temple.
-The composition is okay with me…though i would tone down the foreground leaves so that the viewers eye comfortably follows the path to the temple.
-The temple, being the focal point, needs something going on…kind of a reward to the viewer for landing there in the image. Something that hints at a deeper meaning to the image. maybe a rope ladder going up the rock wall…and a monk sitting on a stool inside the temple standing guard.

Good luck and keep at it!

I REALLY like it, good job!

At some point it becomes fairly obvious that you just stuck a photo of a cliff (depth and all), to the rock geometry.

What you need to do is learn more about things such as color mapping and bump mapping as well as using displacement for much larger details without actually modeling it. Some parts of the image may also benefit from using the sculpt tool as well.