The Undocumented secrets and tips

Hey all when I first, first started BGE and python especially I felt like after the beginner tutorials I was practically abandoned if not for the community. To try and fix this I figured a handy reference of essential knowledge and commonly used poorly documented features/code/logic bricks etcetera would be a good idea. As I’m still a noob here the list is currently quite short but it’s all stuff which I found from the forums or example blends and found immediately useful. If you guys post other related essential poorly documented knowledge and tips I’ll try and make time to edit this post and keep them all on one page for a quick read that noobs can be directed to after completing socials python tutorial or some other noob based BGE tut.

Things they never told us:

GameLogic.getCurrentScene.getObjectList(OByourobject) (means you can get properties from objects not using the python script.)

Set friction, damping and more using the materials tab under Dyn.

Messages can send strings but you must use properties string and on the message actuator use the property button. Python sender (
own.prop = # sets your property
GameLogic.addActiveActuator(cont.getActuator(“message”), 1) #off goes your message.)
reciever ( eval(cont.getSensor(“message”).getBodies()[0]) #gets you message

If you can suss out python Apple2 module is your friend.

If you can’t suss out python Blengine and documentation is your friend.

The Blender module is not available as a Python library. It’s hard-coded into Blender itself, and is not available to the BlenderPlayer.
Ben made a version of Blender.sys.expandpath() for the GameEngine that you can use to get the directory of the .blend itself, though I don’t think it will return the actual name of the .blend like Blender.Get(‘filename’) does. Here’s how to use it:
GameLogic.expandPath(path)
To make a path relative to the current directory, use “//” as the path.
GameLogic.expandPath("//" + filename)