The Unmaking of a cyborg, Animated Short.

Hi All,
I’m still learning blender, so this is mostly just a project to practice those areas which i’ve yet to learn fully. i.e.

> low poly Quad Modeling (I’m used to programs which only use triangles and have no subsurf or multires).

> rigging, especially soft body rigging.

> animation, especially character animation and movements.

The short will probably feed in to a much bigger project. But for now this is just going to be a 3-5 minute movie based on the deconstruction and storage of a cyborg body. It’s kind of a homage to the intro sequence from the first Ghost in the shell movie, where Major Mitako’s special body is put together.

Here’s an early rigging test i did, trying to reverse engineer the LUDWIG rig from blender artists.
I will do my own rig when it comes down to it (currently next thin on the list after making the hair) but I need to understand how it works first.

http://i178.photobucket.com/albums/w249/pickledtezcat/Art%20Project%202/b568fedb.jpg

Next a preview of the face texture;

And an early shot of making the inner skeleton.

http://i178.photobucket.com/albums/w249/pickledtezcat/Art%20Project%202/fa485391.jpg

Keep a look out for updates. I should be able to update this fairly frequently.

Neat Cyborg model I hope you keep up with this modeling project! Try adding a few edge loops to the hip area only 1 or 2 should do it this will help you get the look i think you want :smiley:

Yeah, maybe it needs two more edge loops there.

So far I’ve taken a cylindrical edge loop style, only branching off at the arms, neck and legs, but I think I need to add some rounded loops on each arse cheek and each breast, and maybe the two shoulder blades. In the torso these are the areas of highest detail which need topographic modeling.

By deleting 4 intersecting quads and then extruding the resulting hole inwards you can add a certain amount of edge loop detail to a small area without using triangles.