There Are Problems with the Physics Engine in 2.75

This is a comment on the physics of Blender 2.75 and maybe a point of discussion.

Quite frankly, I think this latest release of Blender broke the physics. I have a host of problems that popped
up to the point I’m thinking of re-installing. Yet, I know from past experience that some of these issues have been
there for a long time.

One of the first things I noticed is “jiggling” rigid bodies when they lie on top of either passive or active objects. This
has been an issue at various times since at least Blender 2.5x (I have no experience with Blender prior to 2.5x) but it is very noticeable in my install. The documentation and a couple of tutorials address this issue but their suggestions do not work in this new version.

For example, one suggestion is to up the “steps” from the default 60 to something higher, like 120 or so. Be careful with the “iterations” setting – anything above 12 can scramble the entire scene. Very touchy setting – but sometimes increasing the “steps” certainly does help.

In a few of my cases, increasing the “steps” actually created more problems. This indicated that perhaps another setting was causing the problem.

This brings us to the “geometry” of collisions in the physics settings. For me, using “mesh” as the bounds of the collision actually makes things worse. If I have something that looks boxy or is spherical in shape, using
that setting (“box” or “sphere”) makes the sim more stable, not less. I have never observed that behavior before in Blender but because it is such a huge, feature-rich package it is possible I just never noticed it.

However, the only way to construct things like chain links requires the “mesh” setting or the physics of the chain simply won’t work. But if I do that, no matter what setting I use – for steps, cache, rigid body params –