Thought this was the best place to start!

Hi all!

I just wanted to stick my head in and say hello. I’ve just downloaded Blender and I’m a TOTAL novice to animation. I’m a writer and fine artist (the old-school type that uses canvas, paints, clay, etc) and after finishing another film script and being told it would work well as an animation, I’ve decided that I may as well learn animation myself rather than paying someone else to do it. It can’t be that much different to traditional art, right? (please say yes!)

It may all go to pot within a few weeks, but I enjoy learning new things and having an extra skill is never a bad thing in my mind!

Anyway, I love the artwork on here - I had a quick flick through the forum before downloading and there are some very talented people indeed! Hopefully, some of that talent will rub off on me! haha

Thank you to the creators/contributors of Blender! You are awesome people!

Sid : )

Welcome to the forums! You are indeed in a good place. A background in traditional art will help immensely. Also check out the 11secondclub it is like a free animation school.

To learn blender you need to watch tutorials at blender cookie.

I’ll let this slide, but just so you know, this is not the right section. The traditional art section is for posting… well, traditional art. Introducing yourself is not art. However, if you have anything to show us, we’d love to see.

Ah sorry! Well, I don’t keep much of my work online, but I’m currently working on this right now:

It’s very much a work in progress (still have to lighten the shadows and finish the material and colouring), but should give you an idea of the sort of thing I do.

Thank you for the nod towards 11secondclub. I’ll definitely check that out. I’ve been working my way through the videos tutorials on here so far and can (slowly) find my way around the program now!