Thoughts about blender 2.8 from a 3dsmax user and a blender teacher in architectural school!

Hello,
I am a 3D artist on 3dsmax but I have the chance to teach Blender 2.8 in an architecture school.
After having tested blender 2.8 for a long time, I have some remarks that seem important to me, especially to improve architectural modeling.

Compared to 3dsmax, I find that blender lacks a lot of modifiers. Indeed as a 3d artist dedicated to architecture I usually use the same functions but non-destructively in order to change things in the fastest way. For those who know 3dsmax, you have a list of huge modifiers and it’s extremely convenient to refine your work. That’s what I use all the time:

1. _modifier “edit poly” (very useful when you want to decompose modeling so you can easily go back)
  2. _idem with edit “edit spline”
  3. _modify “sweep” (to quickly create extrusion profiles (with already some built-in classic profiles) with all the functions of rotation, mirror and offset). Essential tool that must be extremely stable and accurate. This is one of the strong points of 3dsmax for the architecture because it is extremely powerful (much more than the bevel in the curves of blender which is very poor in parameterization)
  4. _modifier “slice” (bisect in blender). Very useful in architecture because when it is in modifier it is animable very easily and allows to create real cutting plans (not like camera clipping). I do not really understand why bisect is not a modifier because everything becomes more complicated and destructive definitively (I know that we can use the operations booleen masi is for me a mistake for modeling because it generates artifacts and crashes)
  5. _modifier “bend”, very practical, simple and powerful modifier in 3dsmax that allows you to non-destructively bend polygons!
  6. _modifier “chamfer” or “bevel” in blender. Very useful in modifying because it again allows to design in a parametric and nondestructive way!