Thoughts About My First Model

Hi guys, recently I have applied for a job and they gave me this model to draw. And they also said it is not necessary to be exactly the same with this model, but it should look like this.

They give me 3 to 4 weeks to learn blender and model this unicycle, I tried my best, and here is what I achieved
https://drive.google.com/file/d/13WcCi_eQhltJMTtbrIy7BSr8tw7McKH3/view

So my meeting was today and he said that he didn’t like it, since I do have not much experience, I wanted to ask you what should I improve. The interviewer didn’t like the seat, the interior section of the wheel. Can you put yourself in the interviewers’ shoes and rate me up to 10, 10 is too good, 1 is too bad. So I can see how far I come. And also can you tell me which parts should be improved.

Finally, as a beginner I want you to suggest to me learning tips or practices to learn blender better.

1 Like

Hello, just passing by, I wanted to see how you were doing after I helped you with the UVs the other day.

I have to say learning to do this unicycle in 3 to 4 weeks is extremely ambitious, I would expect a beggining 3D artist to be able to do that kind of quality after 1 or 2 years of constant training. If you are really starting from nothing, you did quite well on the modeling itself, but I won’t evaluate your job, as they didn’t give you a realistic amount of time to learn Blender. However, your file has a few technical problems.

Time to learn some 3D model cleanup.

So starting with the file you uploaded, you should first go into each material’s settings and set the “blend mode” to opaque. Alpha blend is for transparent materials and is causing glitches in EEVEE/material preview.