Thoughts on first custom build?

Hi everyone. I’m going to be building a new computer in about a month, and I thought I’d post my parts list here in case some of you have advice or suggestions with regards to compatibility or just whether it’s a good build generally (this is my first time building a computer and indeed, my first time using a windows PC, so it’s a daunting task, to say the least). I wasn’t sure which category to post this in, so I apologize if this particular one is incorrect.

I’ve selected a few parts based on a lot of research and a lot of advice, but let me know if you have any suggestions or comments. My budget is about $2000, and I plan to use the machine as an all around filmmaking oriented computer, with a heavy focus on VFX. So that’s 3D work (in Blender, obviously, doing sims, cycles rendering, etc.), heavy compositing in After Effects, editing in Premiere, and maybe a little bit of gaming. Oh and just for reference, my current computer is a top of the line 2011 iMac (27"). Here are all the parts:

Case: (This seems like a fine case, though I don’t know too much on the subject or whether or not it’s even an important decision)
APEVIA X-HERMES-BL

Power supply: (The PSU I was originally looking at was discontinued, so I went with this one, and a friend actually recommended I get a higher wattage than I needed, which makes sense, in case I need to do upgrades in the future. The PSU calculator on Newegg told me that I need at least 650W, so I think 750W should be fine.)
SeaSonic G-750

Motherboard: (This motherboard seems fine, though I’m debating whether or not I need the 8 RAM slots. This seems like the best motherboard in its class for the price)
ASRock X79 Extreme6

CPU: (I’m almost 100% set on this CPU, as it’s definitely helpful with After Effects [and Blender too].)
Intel Core i7-4930K

Heatsink: (I don’t know anything about this [as with most of the parts here], so I’m just assuming this is a fine option.)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO