Thoughts on the new animation system.

I have been animating now for 24 years, much of that time as animation director. I currently am the creative director of loura http://www.iloura.com where we create animation and visual effects for film and TV.

I am also a blender zealot. :slight_smile:

With my credentials out of the way and now that the push to finish Sintel is out of the dev’s way, I thought I’d post my thoughts on the Graph editor as it stands in 2.5.

I have always had the overwhelming sensation that on opening, I was bombarded with information that I needed to cull before I could get working efficiently. I’m used to being offered the bare essentials and then digging into the options to reveal more information.
Seeing multiple objects in the graph editor had been one of the singularly most important features bought to 2.5 (as well as negative numbers which I also harped on about earlier) , but I feel that there is some confusing aspects to the information and thought I’d jot down some points and canvas your opinions.

1/ Filtering keys from channels that have no change in their values but lots of keys (often scale inherits the keys of ROT and LOC but does not scale) removes any redundant keys but seems to leave one. I would prefer it to remove all, thus removing the channel from the graph editor all together.

2/ Upon selecting multiple channels it would be good if toggling a state like “editablilty” toggled for all selected. This would speed things up a lot.

3/ “Only selected keyframe handles” requires “show all handles” to be on which I think is confusing language.

4/ I also feel that for clarity “Only selected keyframe handles” should be on by default.

5/ Is there any reason that the K key in 2.48 for moving all keys on a given frame was removed? (Or is it somewhere else now?)

6/ I find using lower case v and shift V odd for what is essentially a toggle state for visibility. Could just lower-case v suffice? Shift V is not very fluid when working.