Three tips for Tutorial makers

These are three pieces of advice that I think are most important for a tutorial maker… Just as an aside I have been using blender for 18 years now.

#1 TURN ON SCREENCAST KEYS.
This addon had been part of blender for years now and it still amazes me how many people post video tutorials and just naturally assume that the viewer can see what keys they are pressing or what mouse button they are clicking. It’s like they think the viewer can read their mind.

#2 DO NOT ASSUME EXPLAIN.
Just because you know how to do something in blender does not mean that your viewer knows how to do it. The screencast keys mentioned above will show the viewer a lot so they will not get frustrated. But those of us that know blender so well just do things automatically without thinking of it. So we just ASSUME that everyone that uses Blender knows how to do those things.

#3 USE STANDARD BLENDER
Use the standard Blender Foundation Latest Stable version of blender when you do your video tutorial. The version without screen adjustments or themes or you favorite interface addons or colors. AND PLEASE NO DEV versions or special builds. Just because you like a theme or screen setup does not mean everyone does. If you just use the standard “out of the box” blender version you will get less questions of the type “My screen does not look like that.”

Ok I know some people are going to disagree with me. A LOT of people are going to be quite upset with me. But I think that these three simple things would go a LONG way toward lessening the reputation that blender had that it is hard to learn or has a steep learning curve

2 Likes

I don’t see why anyone would disagree with these points, they are all perfectly logical and good points for tutorial makers to follow.