Tokyo Rainy Day Cafe | Another Blender/Flash Fusion :)

Here’s another project I recently made for Forgotten Chipmunk’s up-and-coming lo-fi channel (per her specifications :smiley: ). I created the table, chairs, window frame, plant, cup, road, and building in Blender (rendered in Cycles), while the people, fog, rain, and steam were produced in Flash.

I know it’s probably not much; I’m still pretty new to Blender. Nevertheless, I wanted to share another of my Blender/Flash fusions :slight_smile: Feedback appreciated! Cheers and God bless!

Well done… I almost feel like the people are walking a bit slow for me since it’s raining… But that’s just me.:grin:

1 Like

Haha :laughing: !

Although in all seriousness, my biggest concern is that the walk cycle looks kind of robotic… and even though I kept tweaking it right up until delivery, I still see it :robot:. Had I used Blender instead of Flash for that part, I think I could have created something more organic… but I think I was still too inexperienced to seriously consider taking a leap like that when I made this video. In more recent projects, I’ve finally started experimenting with CG characters instead of just static objects :slight_smile:

I do agree with you about it being a bit robotic… All in good time and practice though! It sometimes helps me to look at reference from real life to get a feel for how I want actions to look. If you want to start getting into learning blender for 2d animation you should take a look at this. It was incredibly helpful when I started learning the new grease pencil engine.

1 Like

watches the video Whoa! Using the grease pencil for 2D looks like a really powerful feature in 2.8+. I like how well it appears to intuitively echo the standard Blender UI. :slight_smile: However, my operating system is a little older, so the latest version of Blender that I’ve been able to run is 2.79b.