too stupid for blender?

Hi,

I am new to blender and have therefore bought the official guide book for 2.3.

Following every step of the gingerbread man tutorial to become familiar with the interface I encountered the following problems:

a: the Bkey box selection did NOT select all verticies of the object as described and I had to rotate the view to select each one seperately.

b: inserting the lamps as directed by the book (I tried it 6 times!!!) the rendering appeared invisible (all white) with some tiny grey shadows. (Using yafray didn’t help much either!)

c: it did NOT take 30min at all - more like 3h

Am I too stupid for blender?

Magnaub

a. You have to turn the model into wireframe mode by using zkey first. Then the bkey selection will work okay.

b. Does your model have a material assigned?

Please check out (updated?) version of the tutorial at http://mediawiki.blender.org/index.php/Manual/PartI/Your_First_Animation_in_30_plus_30_Minutes_Part_I.

No, you are not too stupid for Blender. :smiley: The first steps are the hardest. It is the same as learning to ride a bike. You fall a few times but after a while you will get hang of it.

P.S. There are more tutorials at http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Blender_3D:_Noob_to_Pro and in case you are a visual learner check out video tutorials at http://blender3d.org/cms/Video_Tutorials.396.0.html

Thanks for your reply!

I’ll give it another go!

and no - the model did not have any material attached as it is the next chapter in the book after they congratulate you to your first render!!! :frowning:

Thanks again
Magnaub

It has nothing to do with the material, therefore the order in the book is ok. Sounds like your scene is overlit. Either you have increased your energy values or you put all your 6 lamps on top of each other… :wink:

<edit>
… or you placed area lights instead of spots (or whatever is used in the tutorial), they have a much higher light emission!
Delete all lamps and try again with a singe lamp light.