Toon shader rendering tips

Hey guys. So I’m trying out toon shaders, and I want to render it out but the shader seems to change when I switch to Eevee. Is there anything I can do to fix this? Is it normal?

Your bottom screen isn’t showing you your render, it’s showing you a Material Preview using a sample HDRi. Your results when you click Render will not look like the bottom image. Beyond that, it’s a bit hard to say- you say the result changes when you render it out, but you’re not rendering, you’re just viewing it in Viewport Preview in the viewport, so I’m not sure what your level of experience with Blender is. More details about your process would be helpful :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Oh right yes, my bad. Please allow me to elaborate.

Firstly, I only have about a year’s worth of experience with Blender, so I’m fairly new at this (and some of the jargon).

Secondly, the material preview is the look that I’m going for, but my top screen is what I get when I switch to Eevee in my viewport (plus the shader no longer moves with the camera when I switch to Eevee). Is there a way to maintain the look from the bottom screen when I render, or alternatively, what advice can you give me in general for rendering with toon shaders?

2 Likes

Ok gotcha. So to get the bottom look in your render, you’ll need an HDRI background:

If you want to get the exact result, you’ll need the exact HDRI- @KickAir_8P , can you link to the HDRI being used in the Material Preview here?

3 Likes

That looks like sunset.exr – if needed there are higher-res versions of available at PolyHaven as Venice Sunset . (There’s a full list of Blender’s included HDRIs and PolyHaven’s higher-res versions here.)