Total Newbie. I need help with coloring.

Ok, so here I am at work, plodding along on the same Access Database I’ve been working on for a year when suddently, GAH! It’s finished! I, being the student contractor, find no joy in this, since it probably means I’m out of a job. So I trudge down the hall to my Boss’s office fulling expecting a pat on the head a good job and a contract termination… but no! they have more work for me! Clouds part and angels start to sing the Halelejah chorus.

Then he tells me what it is.

I have to design a 3d short video on the effects of a laser on a surface. By December. Oh and the proffesor I’m making it for? Wants to be able to manipulate it.

So I hit the research and I peruse my options. OpenGL, the only thing anyone in the department has any kind of experience with is out, since it’s not easily manipulatable by anyone without coding background (and because I suck at coding, hardcore.) and Anything less than three dimensional is out. 3d studio max and Maya are too expensive. So I happen upon Blender. Again with the Angels and the singing and the Halelujah chorus.

Being a total newbie to this, I start browsing through tutorials, I even order the blender guidebook. But I have a deadline so I’m trying to learn as I go. So I’m plugging along and I’ve got this lovely wire-frame model for the laser to interact with.

Yoink out the coloring tools, jeeves!

Oh wait… what are the coloring tools?

So back to the tutorials and book I go. Only to find… What’s this? Coloring is either consider so elementary or so complex that people don’t want to cover it.