Total newbie question on selection logic

Hi,
I’m a complete and total newbie and learning Blender with Neil Hirsig’s fabulous series of tutorials on Vimeo.
I have a question about selection “logic”.

Learning selection methods, I would have felt it more logical if rightclick would add to the existing selection (instead of replacing it), just like B, C and lasso selections which are also “additive” in “normal” mode (meaning: when used without modifier keys while clicking, selected objects/vertices/… are added to the existing selection).

Is this just a historical thing and indeed somewhat illogical to most beginners, or am I missing the logic here?

Which key or what click combination would you propose to get out of such ever increasing selection mode?
Is what you describe a common selection method (not counting RIGHTCLICK this time)?
I would rather not to loose my selection by miss-clicking on some vertex btw, so no click on empty space offer, please.

I would propose: each rightclick adds to the selection; each shift+rightclick subtracts from selection. Functionalities, workflow and Blender experience remain exactly the same, only interchange what rightclick and shift+rightclick do.

The only difference would be that all selection methods (rightclick, B, C and lasso) would function in the same way: “additive” without modifier key, “subtractive”/toggle with modifier key.

You can change it in input editor in user preferences. In 3D View -> Global find the Activate/Select bindings, expand the ones bound to Select Mouse and Shift Select Mouse. Enable the “Extend” option in Select Mouse binding, enable “Deselect” in Shift Select Mouse. However, if you want to keep it consistent, you’d have to sift through other selection operators as well (e.g. in 3D View -> Mesh for loop select, etc.).

Great to know Stan, thanks.

Just wondering, am I the only one who finds this default behavior strange? Probably all the hardened Blender users just got into the habit, right?