Total Newbie question regarding exporting Wavefront OBJ

Let me preface this by saying I have been collectively using/learning/pulling the hair out of my head with Blender 2.41 for about three hours in total, it’s a little scary but I am determined to learn how to use this crazy thing!

Ok:

I’m trying to make a simple prop (Shoe, if you must know) for use with Daz/Poser and export the file as an wavefront OBJ, but I keep getting a
AttributeError: ‘NoneType’ object has not attribute ‘name’

now, I can export simple mesh shapes without this problem, but since I made some simple Boolean adjustments the object will not export.
I have downloaded the most recent version of Python (2.4.2) and tried that; No dice Ma!

What I was able to do was export the file to wings, which I don’t know either, then it came in with the x,y,z scales altered, then I exported it again as an OBJ and it looks terrible (like it’s textured, but it isn’t) when I imported it into Daz|Studio 2.1.0.1

Does anyone have any ideas where I’m going wrong with this?

Thanks.

S|D

Hello,

first of all it’s the first time that I export a mesh to (obj) , when I choose export wavefront (obj) it gives a pop-up with some buttons that are quiete clear. I just clicked Ok and the object was exported successfully.

OF course I previously applied a boolean modificator and a subsurf too.

I re-imported it again (in blender) no problem it was the same object, the same dimensions …

Can you post your blend file so I can figure out whats wrong?

it doesnt look like I can add files any longer, I followed the FAQ but I don’t see the option to do so in a new post or an edited first one so I stuck the file
here.

http://briefcase.yahoo.com/bc/yebsothoth

it’s really crude, but like I said I’ve been using the program for less than a handful of hours at this time.

It seems that the folder is empty :there is no file at the link you posted.

Anyway try this one : http://www.h4x.snipanet.com/blender/index.php