Total noob question about textures i think

Hi there!

I’ve been using blender for about a few weeks now and i have learned a lot already and have been able to make some pretty cool stuff! Still have a lóóót of questions but sometimes my lag of knowlegde bothers me and i just dont know how to google it :sweat_smile: so here i am trying to explain this thing i want to know;

How do you guy’s do it when you have like a soda can and it is supposed to be a coca cola can… how do you get the logo design on the can. Just add a logo to it with some kind of texture or is there a other way?

I just wanna know how you be able to put something like a heart or a star or whatever on a object,

Hope someone can help me out :see_no_evil:

The term you are looking for is ‘uv unwrapping’ and it is analogous to stiches on clothes.
It allows you to map 2d textures on 3d objects. You will find good amount of tutorials on this subject.
You can start with unwrapping simple primitives such as cube and cylinder to get better understanding of the process and then go for complex models.

If you want to put something flat on it: use uv/map with textures
If you want to put something bas-relief: use an alpha texture with displacement modifier

Try this:

or this:

Thx for your reply’s. So basically i have to make my own textures to do so. i was aware of the texture unwrapping thing but was hoping there was another way for this… like the pusheen cat on my profile picture… his mouth is a loose object which form technically doesnt fit on the body. So now i have to make this a flat png and put that on the body as a texture :sweat_smile: