Total noob questions about workflow.

Hello there, I’m a noob. Who barely has a grasp on 3d modeling, has a basic understanding of sculpting, has only seen rigging twice, and knows the basic of animation. I very confused about the workflow into animation.

1. I understand modeling is better with object with hard shapes, and sculpting is for object with unique shapes. I also heard that it’s harder to animate something that is sculpted compare to something that is modeled. If I model it first, then sculpt it (like I see a lot of people do) will it still be hard to animate, or would that make it easier?

2. If sculpting is where most of the details are, does the model really have to be that precise? Can I get the general shape of the model, then go crazy with details on the sculpting?

3. Can someone explain why it’s harder to animate something that is completing sculpted. What if you doing the absolute most simplest animation, then would it be easier?

4. I’m also confused about color and texture. The skins that we see on human character in video games, are those human skin texture there using? Or are they simply painting on the skin and letting the light do most of the work? (Sorry I know this question doesn’t fit in with the forum.)

I’m interested in making simple, animations, characters(and creatures) for games. I want to make unique models, but I want to put some (even the slightest) movement into them; It’s kind of creepy having a model just sit there and stare into your soul. I hope this knowledge makes my question easier to answer.

1. Sculpting can be used for both hard surface and organic shaped surfaces, the sculpting workflow is preferred for complex models since you can shape the object without having to mind topology. Sculpted objects can have up to a million polygons easily and they will not deform properly, that’s why it’s a must to retopologize the mesh if you are going to animate it.