Total Noob to 3d

Ok, i am a total noob when it comes to 3d or for that mater any graphics on computers I have played around with Photofire and gimp 2 and now some with blender. I can visualize the steps I can even se the wireframe in my mind and how I want to manipulae it. I have figured how to get a refrence picture in the background.

I just cannot get Blender to do what I want, I want to start at a point in free space without any shape loaded and trace Vertices from the refrence picture and merge them with side views but I cannot seem to find out how to do it and the info I have found just leaves me blank.

I really have a strong desire to do this but am lacking in techinal know how. If you could just point me in the proper direction it might help, then again might not…lol.

I have garnered so much and from what i have seen and read I can see it in my mind just cannot get it to pop up on the computer…/grin.

kk heres the steps:

1. You need to set up your screen into 4 views:

Split the screen by right mouse button on the bottom devider bar and selecting “split”, drag up and drop, then split that new devider so that you have 4 3D views.

then you need to set up the 4 views to reflect the “Front Top Side and Camera” views. To do that hover your mouse over the top left “box” that you just created and press the numberpad “1” key. that sets it to the Front view. Then do the top right with numberpad “7” for the top view. then the bottom left with numberpad “3” for the side view. And finaly the bottom right is set to numberpad “0” for the camera view.

now keep in mind if you click down on any of those views and drag your mouse the view will rotate so u will have to set them back to the "correct view while your lining up the “point” in space.

1. now that your views are set up you need to load the background image in the different views. You should have a front for the front view (top left) a top view for the top view (top right) a side for the side view (bottom left)