Toy Story

What do you say? Could a Toy Story equivalent be made using Blender, as it is now? What I mean by equivalent is a movie that, graphically speaking, is as sophisticated as Toy Story was. I don’t know if anyone can answer this. My gut feeling is “yes”, but I’m no expert.

Bear in mind that I’m totally aware that making a production like that requires a huge amount of manpower and processing time, regardless of the software used, and I’m not asking this in the hope of creating my own 3D feature, nor I’m looking to propose the producing of one by forum members, so relax :cool:.

It is just that I’d like to have a hard fact about Blender’s capabilities to help me promote it. I’m not trying to say “use Blender and make movies like the pros”, rather, the point I’m trying to make is that Blender can do much more than your average use could hope to accomplish, regardless of software.

Well Have you seen ED? (Elephants Dream) yet again have you been catching up with the latest on the next short movie? Basically, when toy story was made in 1995 everything in 3D was quite basic compared to todays standards. It also being Pixar’s first feature-length production.
And Blender has been able to push out higher quality work than that especially of late. So I would be safe to say, “Yes” blender is capable of doing a similar project these days.

Just what is important is the staff, story and commitment of the creators that makes a movie what it is.

I think Blender can do a lot better than Toy Story. It has lots of capabilities, and with a little trickery you can do almost anything, without taking in account the computing power required for it, of course.