Tracey Emin: artist, fraudster or nutcase?

Being a traditional artist myself, I was wondering how people felt about modern art. I get a little annoyed when I see really good artists in the local paper or in art galleries earning pittance when people like Tracey Emin get tens of thousands of pounds for a dirty bed and a tent with cut out letters stuck onto it.

Here’s a link to some of her stuff in case you maybe haven’t seen her ‘work’ - click the thumbmails on the right:
http://www.whitecube.com/html/artists/tre/tre_frset.html
To me, a lot of it looks like the produce of a very perverse teen. Some of it you may think looks nice but do you think that it’s worth tens of thousands of pounds?

I sometimes think I’m missing the point of it when so many people appear to appreciate it but what do other people think?

I think the same as you.

That kind of art, if we can call that art, is plain stupid. Making a damn chair with cut out letter “glued” on it just isn’t what I call art.

From my point of view, there is a large group of people who, just to look like they are “interested” in art say they like that kind of stuff. I simply can’t understand how someone can like that enough to spend 10 000$ on it…

I can’t understand why this is called art…

I agree.

With this type of thinking any person who paints a room or draws a smiley face on a piece of paper is an artist.

But there is another side I learned about in a recent art class I took. If the artists intends it to be art, then it is art. In many people’s eyes who believe this philosophy (not me) its up to what the artists says not to what a spectator/buyer thinks.

Who do you think is to blame? The so called artists or the people who buy it or are they equally to blame? I’m not sure if I’d do the same if I could sell an old tent for £40,000 but I think I’d be too ashamed to admit it belonged to me. It looks like an easy way to get money, though. Some newspapers even recreated the tent for £67.50.