Traffic Flow Visualization

Hi everyone.

I’m a student studying traffic and transportation engineering, this is my first attempt to writing bpython script.

What I’m trying to do is using blender as a tool to visualize traffic flow on the road. In the study zone there are 100000+ vehicles and the moving trajectory of each vehicle is generated by a traffic simulation package. My current Python script doing the following things:

for each vehicle:
add a object
add ipo curves of loc, rot and layer to that object
add key frames to loc, rot ipo based on the trajectory data
add key frames to layer ipo. When the vehicle in study zone the object in layer 1,
otherwise in layer2

This script works fine in my project, but I think the solution is quite awkward, like representing entering and leaving study zone with layer ipo. So, I’m wondering is there a better solution to this. For example is it possible to control the trajectory of particles and represent vehicles using particles?

Any comments? Thank you.

I’m not sure you can drive particles. the more clever ones are boids, maybe try with it.

you should look at the OpenSteer deamon :
http://opensteer.sourceforge.net/
http://www.red3d.com/cwr/steer/
aothms did a blender gateway to interface with the opensteer deamon :
http://www.youtube.com/user/aoThms
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=156034

example of use in blender :
http://jerome.le.chat.free.fr/index.php/blender/galleries/city-engine.html
(second video)

Thanks littleneo!

I like you city generation work. In fact I’m considering using it in my traffic visualization project. Any way it’s quite strange to see vehicles running on a white plane, like this :slight_smile:

I followed the links. It looks like they use a similar technique of object+ipo to represent vehicles. Not exactly what I want. May be I should find solution in the particle system code.