Transferring Modo mesh to Blender. I'm stuck. Please help

I want to find the best format to transfer a modo edge-weighted mesh model to blender. Which formats transfer best and how can I tell if the edge-weighting data is still there? I’ve had the best luck with .obj, and .fbx. In modo, shift+tab shows a creased smoothed model. My model comes into blender unsmoothed and without creases. I’m sure this is a noob question, but what’s the best way to do this?

Can Modo export LWO? there is a LWO importer for 2.83

Modo can export LWO. When you say there is an importer for Blender 2.83 does that mean it also will work in 2.91? And (stupid newbie here) Blender won’t open LWO, so I need to download the importer plug-in and import thru there?

Thanks for your help.

3rd party addon, here:

This version is better than the older addon which didn’t handle NGons well or deal with curves, which I tended to convert to 2-pt polys in LW. Not sure if the latter is still applicable mind you.

1 Like

Does LWO support >edge< weighting? IIRC all it has is Point Weighting, which may/may not make a difference.

Don’t think so, always had to rely on edge loops in LW.

I ask because the OP specified “edge-weighted”.

Yes. I’m interested in “edge-weighted” edges/creases. In Modo, you can have a relatively low poly model but add a crease or a radius of varying sharpness by edge-weighting instead of beveling. I have probably 100+ Modo meshes I want to transfer to Blender but since I don’t know the software (yet), I feel like Helen Keller after someone rearranged the furniture.

Hi Colkai. I downloaded that add-on and couldn’t get it to work. Are add-ons specific to versions of Blender? If the add-on is for 2.80 and I’m using 2.91, am I out of luck?

I tried loading the zipped and unzipped software. Blender said it was loaded, but I couldn’t get it to enable.