Triggering blender/python from outside the file?

Hi all,

I’m new to blender/python and am wondering if an idea that I have is possible before I start spending a lot of time on an animation and other “bells & whistles”.

The “bare bones” is this:

I want to trigger a blender animation to be created using external data and the resulting file stored on a server.

As en example picture a short animation of a car pulling into a driveway. I want to simply change the license plate (a text object), the color of the car, and a logo on the car based on data given to me by users and then have this new video (.MOV file I’m thinking now but have more research to do) stored on a server. So it’s the same basic animation with some properties being adjust each time around.

I can certainly find the information on adjusting blender object properties via python but I’m unsure on whether or not it’s possible to trigger a blender file (and what file type that should be) from outside the (previously) closed file AND if that blender file can then save resulting files that it creates.

It seems reasonable to me that this would be possible. :smiley:

I’m not asking that anyone type me up some code, merely suggestions on some search terms to look for and specific technologies (hopefully PHP) that might commonly be used in conjunction with blender/python.

Thanks.

Hello and welcome.

Yeah, this is actually very easy. You can render frames or animations from the command line, saving the output to the (appropriate) format of choice. Navigating to the blender folder in a command prompt and typing blender /? will show you the options you have available.

As for changing the colour, license plate and a decal - I’d just have these three objects texture mapped, using files such as car_colour.tga license_plate.tga and decal_tex.tga
You just run a script that copied the appropriate files from your library of colours and license plates and decals into the path specified in the blend file.