Tris, Quads and n-ons in Blender

*n-gons

I’m new to Blender and have just been reading through the pretty good ‘Blender for Dummies’ book. I was wondering if anyone could shed any more light on this following passage:

Faces in Blender are limited to only three-sided and four-sided polygons, often referred to as tris (pronounced like tries) and quads. Other programs have something called an n-gon that can have virtually a limitless number of sides. Blender developers are working on building this feature into Blender and have made great progress. However, at this time, only some development versions of Blender have n-gon functionality. The current release is still limited to tris and quads. This isn’t a completely horrible situation, however. A lot can still be done with just three- and four-sided faces. In fact, most detailed character models are made completely with quads, and all 3D geometry is reduced to triangles when it gets to your computer hardware.

• p. 55

Isn’t only being able to have 4-sided polys constricting? Why do extra sides make all the difference? Why is n-gon functionality so advanced? This book was published in 2009, have there been any changes since then? This book does only seem to refer to pre-Cycles Blender and before the new GUI came in, so I’m gathering there were lots and lots of changes not too long ago.

Cheers.

the next version 2.63 wil have ngon with Bmesh
so faces can have any number of edges!

but you can still work with only tris and quads if you want too!

salutations

This is true, as Bmesh was merged into trunk soon after the 2.62 release.

It used to be that you had to download a Bmesh branch build, but you can now use Ngons in any trunk build.

2.63 should be released within a couple of weeks at the earliest, so people wanting Ngons and improved modeling tools in the official release will not have to wait long.

Omna

NGONs is nothing else than an additional modeling tool / approach which should be applied when appropriate.