Trouble implementing simple topology

Hey folks!

So, I’m not really a beginner in Blender, but I am not artistically skilled, and mostly use it for simple things. But I’m trying to get better at modeling. I threw something together I was half-way okay with, but I already started running into issues where my hasty mistakes are making it hard to modify things.

So anyway, I started looking into best practices and topology, and found images like this and the YouTube playlist stickied on here (and some other YouTube creators) and it seemed like a great idea, but when I went to put it into practice on things more complicated than a subdivided plane, I immediately got stuck.

So I’ve got this cockpit-thing here:

and despite the colouration basically all of those faces are planar (everything but what’s through the doorway)

So I tried to implement that “3 to 1” pattern below the doorway, and that seemed to work out, but then I realized that unlike in the drawings where it’s all one plane, here there are things to the left and right of this whole thing. So now those two big faces on either side are effectively pentagons.

Ok, but I could use a pattern again on the left and right side, but, that would require more lines, which would then turn either the top face or outer face into a pentagon instead…

but those outer faces are already quads. So… now those would need to be solved.

So all in all I’m not sure how to actually implement some of these patterns without just moving the pentagon or triangle around to another face.

Any tips here on how I should actually think about these kinds of things?

I would just have the edges wrap around the model.

Reduction patterns are nice to know, but your model here is quite a bit too low poly to worry about using them. When you have a simple, box shaped model, the convenience of having a clean, square structure is going to be more important than trying to reduce the polygon count at all costs.