Trouble rigging a ball with bones(Is it possible to transform from two pivots on the same bone)

HI Everyone!
I’m a blender newbie starting down the Rigging/Animating pathway. I’ve started working my way through the “Humane Rigging” course by Nathan on the Blender Cloud Site but things in the iteration of blender that he is using don’t line up with things in blender 2.82(Or i’m just doing something wrong while following his instructions).

I’m up to the third ball rig, where he introduces bones and armatures. I have made the three bones he has asked for; Spin, Counter rotation and Main.
I have parented the ‘spin’ bone(and armature) to the ball, parented the ‘counter rotation’ bone to the ‘spin’ bone and parented the ‘Main’ bone to the ‘counter rotation’ bone.

I’ve managed to get the control bones to affect the things I want them affecting(Spin turning the mesh, main controlling squash and stretch and the direction of the squash and stretch, and counter rotation doing its thing without needing to have a specific handle).

my problem
The custom bone shape I made for the Main bone rotates off of the ball when I rotate it.
This makes sense to me because the pivot is down the bottom of the bone(which is also the base of the ball, so when I squash/stretch that point stays in contact with the ground), but what I’m wondering is if there is a way to have the ball scaling toward/away from that point at the bottom of the ball, while still having any rotation from the same bone coming from a point in the centre of the ball?

In the tutorial it seems to just be what happens, but in mine that is not the case.

Im Leaning towards it being a problem with the way I have set up the driver on the counter rotation bone, but I’m not sure what I would change to adjust that…

Just about to sleep on it, so if you need more info I can send some screenshots tomorrow morning.

Thanks in advance for your help!