Trouble with Blender Cookie's compositing tutorial (the Bartek Skorupa ones)

So I feel like I’ve learned a lot from the latest round of Bartek Skorupa’s compositing tutorials on Blender Cookie, but I’ve run into an issue with the refraction pass that I just don’t understand. I thought I’d set it up exactly the same as in the tutorial, but when I add the refraction pass, it seems to be adding black - how is it even possible to “add” black?

I’m a little perplexed. Attached is the .blend file. I’m not new to the compositor so much, but I am new to some of the techniques he’s prescribed in the tutorial, so I’m really not sure at which step along the way I did something incorrectly.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Hi,

This issue will be covered in the next round. As you noticed - this video is almost an hour long and I simply didn’t manage to cover all of the things - refraction included.
First the good news: You didn’t do anything wrong.
Second - the bad news: There is not much you can do here. It simply won’t mix properly because of alpha and the way refraction pass is created in Blender’s internal engine.
Some users keep trying to find the way to deal with it, but in my opinion it’s not worth it.
My advice? If combining passes yourself - avoid using transparency. It will simply not mix in.
In my scene everything worked because I used alpha of 100%. Transparency was set via “frasnel”.
Every time when you use alpha different then 1 - your passes may not properly mix together.

We unfortunately have to choose: Either transparency or combining passes. We can’t have both.