Troubles Deleting Objects (newbie problem)

First and foremost, hello everyone. I’m new to blender having now had the program for about 3 days, and so far I really enjoy using it.

For the most part, learning the program has been pretty intuitive and straightforward, with much help from the online tutorials and resources provided by blender.org.

Recently, I made a spaceship and a planet for the background, but I soon decided that the planet (a UVSphere) was out of place. I deleted it and saved, assuming the project was just as it was before adding the planet. Now the particle settings that I had adjusted are all gone for the rear flame coming from the shuttle. Though they still render just as before, it prompts me to set up a new particle system whenever I try to edit them.

It seems to me that the planet has left an artifact (I think that’s what it’s called), and is selected whenever I select the particles. therefore I cannot access only the particle system for editing, and there’s a little pink dot floating around all the time. I went into the outliner and the UVSphere that I created is still attached to the scene.

Is there an easy way to fix this problem? Whenever I select the UVSphere in the outliner, and then delete it in the 3D viewer I can only access Object Mode for viewing, and cannot get to the particle editing buttons anyway.

I hope it’s an easy fix.
thanks in advance for all your help, CutRock.

You deleted it in Edit mode, so you only deleted the Mesh that was linked to the Object (represented by the little pink dot) and not the Object itself. Goto the F9 buttons, Links and Materials tab and find the ME: datablock feild while that pink dot is showing (the object is selected), open up the little menu on the left and choose the Mesh that you deleted.

If you have saved in the meantime you may have lost the ME: mesh so you can either select any other, or create another IcoSphere and select its mesh then delete the donor.

%<