Trying to make a still life render

I struggle with composition, it’s just a bunch of objects that i happen to have on hand or made previous put in the scene because why not, and i usually just place them where ever because im not a skilled artist in terms of arranging objects. But im working on this scene to try and better myself. Tried to get the lighting looking half decent, turns out all HDRIs just produce flat boring lighting, so i had to add huge dark walls to the scene to get some shadow, and add a rim light. The glass plate is a mistake and theres still a few changes i need to make before the final image. Any feedback is welcome.

5 Likes

I’m not at a good day to give suggestions about composition but I can recomend you a book to study it deeply and learn a lot! look for Rudolf Arnheim: art and visual perception.

1 Like

One cheese and the knife seems to float in the air :slight_smile:

Here’s a thought: when regarding a scene, your eye wants to follow a path. It will start at the brightest and most-contrasty thing in the picture, and from there your eye wants to be led from object to obect to finally wind up where it started. The arrangement of objects such as the cheese-knife can also be used literally as pointers.

As it stands now, my eyes tend to bounce between the glass bowl, the cheese, briefly the grapes, then the table setting. They really don’t get to the bowl of fruit.

When composing a still-life, use color in the lighting plan. The illumination is almost never “white.” Your present lighting seems to come from only one source – burning-out the top edge of the table completely – and it is purer-white than any actual lamp would ever be. Color variation can also be used to add interest to the “path” that I spoke of.