Tutorials and Tips to further my experience with Blender?

I’ve been using Blender for around four years now, (I was introduced to it by a Gaming magazine in 2005, EGM if I remember correctly). I’ve learned all of the basics a long time ago, and know pretty much all of the basic functions of Blender. However, I’m having trouble bringing myself to create things, and need some help to do it.

First off, I can’t seem to find the ‘best’ tutorials anymore. I’ve completed many tutorials, ranging from modeling to physics, but now, most of the tutorials I look at are more of the same, teaching me techniques and functions I already know. I would highly appreciate if you’d post your favorite tutorials to help me, even if you think they’re basic. However, I do request that they not be video tutorials, as a slow connection is preventing me from loading long videos.

Now, I’ve created many things, but my problem is that most of the things I make, (Or attempt to make), are based off of real objects. Lately, I just model what’s in front of me, which isn’t using any of my creativity, and I really don’t feel proud afterwards/ I’d like to know how you come up with ideas, concepts, or just basic thoughts of how you are going to create an object or scene. Not really sure what else to say in this subject, but I hope I’ve made myself clear on it.

I’d also like to know useful tips and helpful things that…well…help you blend, like, how you like to set up your windows, or how you like to have certain aspects set up. These things are mostly based on personal preference, but I’d like to know anyhow.