Ubuntu and Blender

Hello Everyone,

I just installed Ubuntu, and used apt to find and install blender. The version that got installed was 2.44. What is the easiest way to upgrade to 2.45? I am fairly new to linux. I have been using windows xp, and have at least 4 different installs of Blender (earlier versions as well as 2 from graphicall).

Is it just as easy to have multiple versions installed on linux.

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

Hey there,

Yup, it’s pretty much just as easy to have multiple versions going under linux.
The way I do it is to download a binary package as a tar or tar.gz then open it with ark and unzip it to /home/enhzflep/blender2.4.x_all_the_rest_of_the_suggested_name
it’s then just a matter of running the blender executable file to get it going. I’ve got 2.42, 2.44 and 2.45 all running under freespire, even though their repository only supplies 2.42

I had issues getting some of the builds from graphicall.org to run since freespire’s libraries are a little old, but in many cases it can be solved with some devious file-copying.
Often, I have a library called (from memory) alsalib1.0.so present in the /usr/lib directory or whatever it is, and the program will fail to start since alsalib1.0.so.0 is not found. In this case, I just copy /usr/lib/alsalib1.0.so --> /usr/lib/alsalib1.0.so.0 with the comand “sudo cp /usr/lib/alsalib1.0.so /usr/lib/alsalib1.0.so.0” and in many instances, this kind of a trick seems to work.
(cp is the copy command, & sudo is the command that gives you ‘administrator’ access to the file system, allowing you to copy a file to the normally write protected /usr/lib directory)

Hope this helps,
Simon.

enhzflep,

Well, that was easy enough. The only problem I have is that the menus don’t work in 2.45 (file…exit etc). They work ok in 2.44 though.

Yup, I do the same (except I’m running ubuntu studio, which is effectively the same).