Ubuntu Issues...

I am new to Linux, I recently installed Ubuntu Koala Karmik, or 9. something… so i do not know anything about it.
Anyway, i am tryin to install Blender, i got a CD from the book “The essential Blender, guide to 3D creation with the Open Source suite Blender”. The CD lets me choose from 4 options, the first 2 start like this:
blender-2.44-linux-glibc236-py24-x86_64 (and then this is the difference betwen them)
.tar.bz2
-static.tar.bz2
The other 2:
blender-2.44-linux-glibc236-py25-x86_64 (and then this is the difference betwen them)
.tar.bz2
-static.tar.bz2

And since i am new to Linux, giving them a double click like a Windows *.exe file do not work, how do i open those files?
I want to start medeling as soon as pisible.
Thank you very much all of you.

Those are fairly old versions - 2.44. You can get 2.49a from the repository - System >> Administration >> Synaptic Package Manager. Type “Blender” in the search field at the top then click the box left of “Blender” and “Mark for installation”. When it’s done click apply and Blender will be loaded and youll find it in Applications >> Graphics.

You can get the newer 2.49b here, but since you’re just starting it won’t any difference.

%<

Welcome to the world of Linux where every installation is different. Those packages should contain text files that tell you how to install. Good luck reading 3+ pages just on how to install one small app.

Fortunately, the process for different applications is still generally the same basic thing in those text files. Regardless, Fligh already told him about Synaptic, so why troll about old conventions?

At the OP, just download the appropriate Linux version, based on your python version and whether your system is 32 or 64 bit, from blender.org and double click the purple Blender icon to run it. Very little reading needed :wink:

Sigh…

To find your Python version just type :
python
or
python --version
into a terminal window.