Ugly, ugly bezier->mesh!

OK. I’m modelling this phone here. I made a nice, clean shape of bezier curves. Now I also need to put in some edges and steps, so I converted it to a mesh. As expected, it turns into a mess…

Now I’m not good with Blender yet - is there a way to do this without getting a huge mess? Is it possible to delete vertices (it created some weir ones in places…) without destroying the surface? Or better: is it possible to model the bezier object from the side somehow? Join two bezier objects instead of extruding one? Add anchor points? This is really hard… whince

Am I on the rright track but don’t have another choice? Please kick my butt into the right direction :smiley:

Attachments

It depends also on the defres that you aloowed in f9

IT DEPENDS ALSO ON THE DEFRES THAT YOU ALLOWED IN F9
the higher the more verticies you get in the mesh!

so may be you should reduce it to a minimum

now you may ahve to relocate some verticies but this is a minimum of work and fast

it should gie a clean mesh and be nice

unless you set some undesired bevel or extruded it before !

can you upload a file you we can look at it ?

Thanks

Hey Ricky!
Thanks a lot for the quick and in-depht reply! Unfortunately I’m on the road now, but may I get back to you again later on? This thing is really important to me, and I wanna get it as perfect as possible! So I’ll upload the pure curve object is a few hours, ok?

OK then, there it is, Ricky :slight_smile:
I’m really curious how to do this properly! On a 60$ DVD tutorial there’s talk about cleaning up the mesh after convertig the curve, but not how, what or where and so on.

Thanks!

Attachments

phone_before_ugly_mesh.blend (145 KB)

Actually, if you convert it to a mesh eventually, why not model it entirely without curves :wink:
I admit, I’m an old poly-subsurf-modeler and hardly ever use curves. Mostly only for deforming objects.