Deleting asks for a confirmation of the deletion. Confirmations are made to let you check if you really want to do the action.
IMHO, undo systems have made people lazy, always going forward without second guessing what they are doing and then at some point “oops, I didn’t want to do that”.
Just had to say that. It’s not particularly directed at you in any way.
Martin