understanding non progressive cycles rendering

Hi all,
I’m learning blender&cycles and I’m studying how to use the non progressive render to cut rendertimes.
Reading the DingTo post in his website I’ve understood that AA samples multiply the “channels” samples (diffuse, glossy, ecc).

So if I set in PROGRESSIVE mode 2000 samples and I’m happy with the noise level, if I want to recreate the same quality in NO PROGRESSIVE I’ve to set AA & channels samples in a way to have 2000 samples as result. Is it correct??

The light samples are multiplied by the AA samples??

2000 AA samples would give the same result, but you aren’t getting any use out of the NP integrator at that point. The theory behind the NP integrator is that things like GI, reflections, AO, and so forth require more samples than is need to actually get smooth edges. So instead of sending a single ray to sample these over and over again, you send a handful of primary rays out for each pixel, and once these hit something they split into multiple rays to help average out that sample. This reduces the number of times you need to (unnecessarily) calculate the camera > first-hit path.

What you want to do instead is set a basic number of AA samples so you get clean (not noisy or jagged) edges on things. This will probably be somewhere between 16-100 depending on the scene. Then look at where you still have noise, and up the per-ray samples for that type. For example, if you get clean edges with 30 AA samples, but notice you still have really grainy reflections, you’d increase glossy samples.

The wiki for Arnold has a really handy flowchart for this, the settings in Cycles are relatively similar for the most part: https://support.solidangle.com/display/ARP/Removing+Noise+Workflow

thanks J_the_Ninja, tomorrow I’ll try and I’ll post some images.
I have a scene where the ceiling of a room receive only indirect lighting and I have difficult to clean the GI noise.