Underwater Scene: Reef, fish, ocean, boat, etc

Hey guys

I’m new to Blender but I feel I’ve become comfortable enough with it to start a serious project. I work for a Sportfishing magazine and have done underwater illustrations for them in the past — all in Photoshop (two previews below). My plan is to “convert” it to true 3d in Blender, and in the process improve on it as well. It will certainly be a pleasure to make ammendments to a Blender project instead of a Photoshop one – I’m reaallly sick of the clone tool!!

Speed and progress on this will mostly depend on how much time my company allow me to spend on it, while busy with other (boring) jobs.

I started with a small test fish – a 'Cuda. I’m not too happy about the first top fin and will try and improve on it. The texture is quite low and the poly count quite low as well, in the end it won’t need to be very high quality as the fish is fairly small in comparison to the whole illustration.

I’ve also found some really good Tutorials on this forum, which I’ll certainly make good use of.

Keep well
Len

EDIT Sorry guys, if I should rather be in the “Works in progress” section could the mods please move it for me?

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h215/Rufty/cuda_test_combined.jpg

These are two previews of jobs I did in Photoshop:

great scene ! :wink:

just little fake caustics to the ground sand in the first image :smiley:

I believe the first one to be a photoshopped image… the fish looks good though :wink:

This is a great start. The modeling is perfectly fine for what you want to do, and you say you don’t need the fish to be high detail, but if you did I would recommend the following:

1. A better texture. If you work for a fishing magazine, hopefully you can get hold of a nicer image of a fish - preferably from directly side on. This texture image almost seems to be a photo taken from an angle.