Unfurling a Tree

Hey there! So I’m a newbie but getting into Blender for mesh model processing in design / research, mostly around 3D scanning and printing.

Current problem is a funny one.

I have a digital scan of a portion of a tree trunk and need to ‘unfurl’ it or imprint it onto a surface.

Here is the log:

And the action is almost like rolling it onto a clay bed, getting all the depth and detail imprinted.

Does anyone have a suggestion on how to achieve this? Or any tutorials or links that demonstrate it?

I am a bit of a noob so not sure where to start!

Thanks all!
A

You may look into dynamic paint. This can affect the distortion. Of course you have to animate a rolling. Maybe look for tutorials: skidmarks/footprints in mud …

I think I know how to do this. Basically, you want to make the trunk a displacement map that you can apply to a plane or other flat surface, right? So we need to know where the trunk is shallow/deep from the perspective of the center of the tree.

1. use a texture with a radial gradient on the trunk. I’m using loud colors so that I can see exactly where the detail starts and stops. I think it’s easier to map from “object” in texture coordinate node. The thing you have to fiddle with is the scale at the bottom of the mapping node, what worked for me was XYZ .8,.8,0; the Z is 0 to give a cylindrical texture not a spherical one. Mess with the color ramp until you just have dots at the high and low points

2. convert the color ramp to black and white at the extents without changing where the stops are

3. scale the log by 100 so you are easily inside it. Flipping the normals might be important? I didn’t bother.